What is the Union County Library System?

The Union County Library System, established in 1997 by the Union County (PA) Commissioners, coordinates free public library services to the residents of Union County through three independent libraries:


Herr Memorial Library, Mifflinburg

The Public Library for Union County, Lewisburg

West End Library, Laurelton


Each library, governed by a board of trustees, is responsible for its own budget, building, collection, programs, staffing and fundraising efforts.


The Union County Library System:
-Provides software for check-in/check-out functions
-Creates electronic records of library materials
-Shares materials via inter-library delivery
-Subscribes to online databases
-Establishes borrowing policies
-Offers technology troubleshooting and training
-Markets library programs and services
-Provides broadband access
-Ensures compliance with state standards and reporting